My Seomate Story: Dave

This is the third installment of My Seomate Story, a featured article that introduces you to Seomates from around the world and gives them a chance to tell the story of how they came to love SNSD & Seohyun . This month, we meet Dave, a 21 year old American SONE. Dave actually considers himself a “Gorjess Spazzer”, Jessica Jung-biased. Even with the title of “Spazzer” in the name, he is someone who doesn’t like to spazz. But after having dismissed Seohyun as a robotic personality, he came to admire and respect her after his personal encounter with her. Read on to find out why!

For many people, their introduction to Seohyun was through WGM, or a particular performance, or a picture. For me, it was…her personality. Or according to what I read, her lack of.

After my introduction to SNSD, in my process of learning the members that couldn’t speak English, Seohyun always stood out to me. Comments always came out like “Oh, she’s a robot”, “She’s a doll, very stern”, and things of the sort. I was intrigued, seeing as how in the US music scene, this was a common joke towards the group The White Stripes, whose drummer Meg White was also referred to as a robot due to her vapid personality.
As I watched some videos of her, and more of SNSD I realized…well she’s certainly different. Her cute OCD Keroro sticker habit offset her otherwise academic persona, and while I never found her as intriguing as say, Jessica or Tiffany, her little quirks were something to be admired. Still, my favorite name for her was RoboSeo, one I still use to this day.
I immediately was impressed with her skills a pianist, as for an idol, it was one of the best I had seen. Her vocals, while not as powerful as Taeyeon’s or emotional as Tiffany’s, also never strayed from the mark, and I rarely heard her blow her parts. Dancing-wise, while she lacked the “power” of Hyoyeon or the “sexiness” of Yuri, she never seemed to have trouble with it.
I’m not a watcher of shows, interviews, or any of the like that isn’t a music performance, as they don’t interest me, but from what I saw from WGM, I have to say, scripted or not, she didn’t do too bad of a job with Yonghwa, and you could gradually see chemistry develop between the two, and though I don’t plan on finishing, it was enjoyable to me while it lasted.
So what made her special? Meeting her. At SM Town LA 2010, I was invited by a manager of theirs to greet the members at separate times. When it came time to greet Seohyun, unlike the others who waved, she stuck out her hand and gave a deep bow, though I was of no importance to her, nor was I more than a few months older than her. But that simple and kind gesture showed what kind of person she was, and why she’s undoubtedly the role model of many.
I apologize if mine isn’t as interesting as previous entries. I’m not too good at these. But I hope you liked my view, and why I like Seohyun…my robot.
Wait I didn’t say that.

DON’T GIVE ME THAT LOOK!

Dave is not one that is easily impressed, but Seohyun has gained his respect as a person and performer! Thanks for the cute story, Dave! That is one beautiful, intelligent, interesting and perfect robot. Maybe one day we’ll bring you over to the Seomate side :-)

  • Written By: DMVeee
  • Edited By: lvsanchez115

About L

Interested in Japanese language and culture, J-Pop, K-Pop and Asian Dramas.

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

